MCM Scotland Author Corner

Source: MCM Scotland

Get your brains in gear and your pages turning, Author Corner is making its MCM Scotland debut!

We have volumes of authors attending all weekend with so much literary goodness, so check out the list below to see who’s in our good books at the moment! Oh and remember, if you miss this you’ve only got your shelf to blame.

Ken MacLeod: Fall Revolution Series

Ken MacLeod is the author of twelve previous novels, five of which have been nominated for the Arthur C. Clarke Award, and two which have won the BSFA Award. Ken MacLeod is married with two grown-up children and lives in West Lothian.


Kim Curran: The Slay Series

Kim Curran is an author and creative director based in London. She is the author of six novels for young adults including the Slay series. She was nominated for the Sydney J Bounds, Best Newcomer Award, 2012, and her short story, A WOMAN OUT OF TIME, was selected for the Tiptree Award Honor List, 2014. In addition to her fiction she has worked as an advertising copywriter for 20 years, specialising in youth marketing. She lives in London with her husband and appears to be the only writer she knows who doesn’t own a cat.

Elizabeth May: The Falconer Trilogy

Elizabeth May is the author of the YA fantasy trilogy The Falconer (The Falconer, The Vanishing Throne, The Fallen Kingdom), and short fiction published in the anthology Toil & Trouble. She was born and raised in California before moving to Scotland, where she earned her PhD at the University of St Andrews. She currently resides in Edinburgh, Scotland, with her husband and two cats.

Laura Lam: Micah Grey Trology

Originally from sunny California, Laura Lam now lives in cloudy Scotland. Her next novel is the feminist space opera, Seven Devils, co-written with Elizabeth May. Lam is also the author of BBC Radio 2 Book Club section False Hearts, the companion novel Shattered Minds, as well as the award-winning Micah Grey series Pantomime, Shadowplay, and Masquerade. Her short fiction and essays have also appeared in anthologies such as Nasty Women, Solaris Rising 3, Cranky Ladies of History, and more. She lectures part-time at Edinburgh Napier University on the Creative Writing MA.

Amy McCulloch: The Oathbreaker’s Shadow

Amy McCulloch is a 30-something Chinese-White author, born in the UK and raised in Canada, currently based in London, UK. She previously worked as Editorial Director at a leading children’s publisher, and in 2013, she was listed as one of The Bookseller‘s Rising Stars. Her debut fantasy adventure novel, The Oathbreaker’s Shadow, was published in 2013 and was longlisted for the 2014 Branford Boase Award for best UK debut children’s book. Her following series The Potion Diaries (written as Amy Alward), was an international success, with rights selling in nine countries, and was selected for the inaugural Zoella Book Club in 2016.  Her sixth novel, a YA sci-fi called Jinxed, published in August 2018.